Practical information

Opening times

Coronavirus - New measures

Subject to the enactment of new directives by the National Security Council, and if the health situation allows it, the reading room of the City Archives will be reopened to the public from Tuesday January 5 2021, provided that the following conditions are met :

  1. The reading room will be opened twice a week, only on Tuesdays and Thursdays, from 9 am to 4 pm.
  2. Because of the limited number of places, the appointment has to be taken online via the address archives@brucity.be at least three days in advance.
  3. As far as possible, avoid coming accompanied and keep to appointment time. Please let us know of your delay by phone (02 279 53 20) or by email at archives@brucity.be.
  4. Wearing a mask is mandatory (! We do not provide masks at the entrance).
  5. The requested documents will be prepared in advance in the reading room. The staff may refuse any other request different from the initial one made by email.
  6. The copying machine is unavailable in the reading room. However, the printing of digital documents is possible from the reading room pc’s. Photographs without flash are allowed.

Anybody who does not respect these rules will be denied the access to the reading room. These clauses apply until further notice.

Who can be given access to the reading room ?

  • Researchers will be allowed to consult physical documents that they cannot consult otherwise.
  • Students and postgraduates will be allowed to consult archives and documents for their academic works.
  • Building permit dossiers can be consulted by owner or purchaser or any person mandated.
  • Genealogists.

All necessary precautions are taken to protect the health of our readers and our collaborators. Sanitizing gel will be available for the public.

Outside opening to public hours :

Closed periods 2021 (Monday : closed)

  • from Thursday, 13 May to Friday, 14 May;
  • Monday, 24 May;
  • from Wednesday, 21 July to Thursday, 22 July;
  • from Monday, 26 July to Monday, 16 August;
  • from Monday, 25 Oktober to Friday, 29 Oktober;
  • from Monday, 1st November to Tuesday, 2nd November;
  • Thursday, 11 November
  • Monday,15 November;
  • from Friday, 24 December 2021 to Monday, 10 January 2022.

Location

Archives of the City of Brussels
Rue des Tanneurs 65
1000 Brussels